The Governing Council consists of the Head Librarian of each full member institution and the Chairman of the Advisory Board or his/her representative.

Members elect a Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary who hold office for a two (2) year term renewable for another 2 years only.

As of February 2017 the Chairman of the Governing Council is the University Librarian of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Dr. Sahm Nikoi.  The Vice Chairman is the Librarian of the University for Development Studies (UDS) and the Secretary is Ms. Korklu Laryea, the Librarian for University of Mines and Technology.   All were elected at the beginning of 2017, with terms of office covering 2017-2019. 

The next election for the above positions will take place by the end of 2019.